Seniors Named Candidates for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

Top Row L-R (Tanvi Mehta, Jenning Chen and Lisa Qu)
Bottom Row L-R(Sanjay Ravindra, Abhiraj Gupta, Frederick Drescher and Albert Huang)

Congratulations to Seven Spring Valley Discovery magnet students who have been named candidates in the 2017 United States Presidential Scholars Program. They are Jenning N. Chen, Frederick Drescher, Abhiraj Gupta, Albert L. Huang,  Tanvi M. Mehta, Lisa C. Qu, and Sanjay F. Ravindra. 

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. Students chosen as U.S. Presidential Scholars receive an expense-paid trip to Washington, D. C. in June and are presented the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House, in commemoration of their achievements. During their visit to Washington, Scholars have access to important national and international figures, including government officials, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and other accomplished people. Scholars are provided opportunities to: wrestle with issues that concern America and the world; attend recitals, receptions and ceremonies held in their honor; and visit area museums and monuments. But perhaps the greatest benefit to the Scholars, and the one they most often remark on, is the chance to exchange ideas with similarly motivated and accomplished peers, and to forge friendships that last a lifetime.