Spring Valley High School (Discovery and Explorations) Named National Magnet School of Distinction by Magnet Schools of America

Spring Valley High School has been named a National Magnet School of Distinction by Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools. 

Spring Valley High School’s magnet programs, Discovery and Explorations, seek to provide our students with an innovative, academically challenging experience centered on rigorous mathematics and science education through unique, student-centered research and internship opportunities. Our educators strive to establish meaningful relationships with each student and family, set consistently high expectations for all learners, empower each student with the tools to reach his/her full potential, and continuously inspire exploration, discovery and creativity in our students. Our vision is to develop a well-rounded scholar who has the ability to use scientific inquiry, mathematical tools, and twenty-first century technology skills to succeed and solve problems in our rapidly changing world. Discovery and Explorations will challenge students to embrace diversity and become culturally responsible, caring citizens in the global community.

Presentation of Distinction Award:

Dr. Michelle Wyatt will be recognized and receive a National Magnet School of Distinction Merit Award on behalf of the school during an awards ceremony held at Magnet Schools of America’s 35th National Conference hosted by Los Angeles Unified School District in Los Angeles, California April 26-30, 2017.

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school’s magnet theme.

The Executive Director of Magnet Schools of America, Todd Mann and President, Sara Wheeler will present the award on Friday, April 28, 2017. To learn more about the national merit awards program, please visit www.magnet.edu