Candidates for the 2013 Presidential Scholars Program

Courtney S. Noh
Jae H. Ro
Congratulations to Courtney S. Noh and Jae H. Ro for being named candidates for the 2013 Presidential Scholars Program, which recognizes and honors some of the nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

“This honor represents many years of hard work in and out of the classroom,” said Dr. Katie Brochu, Superintendent. “I am very proud of these two students and their long list of accomplishments.”

Candidates are invited to apply for the competition based on excellence in academics or arts, though the majority is selected on the basis of broad academic achievement. The names of semifinalists are announced in early April; the names of Scholars are released in May. The presidential scholars are invited to participate in National Recognition Weekend in Washington, D.C., which includes a ceremony sponsored by the White House. Each Scholar is asked to identify a teacher who made an impact on him or her; the educators are invited to attend the events including a special reception. They are also presented with a Teacher Recognition Award.

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by Executive Order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our Nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars.

Courtney and Jae are both National Merit Semifinalists and perfect section or subject scores on the SAT. Courtney is a member of the Spring Valley High School math team that took first place at the University of South Carolina’s annual high school math contest held Jan. 26.