Semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit(R) Scholarship Program

Bottom Row L-R (Zane O' Mara, Frederick Drescher, Rishishankar Suresh, Christopher Juhn, Jacob Brock, Albert Huang, Sanjay Ravindra, Anson Bidwell and Luke Marazzo)
Top Row L-R (Elaine Patterson, Sirila Padi, Jenning Chen, Madison Lynch, Tanvi Mehta, Wenxin Fan and Lisa Qu)
Not Pictured: Abhiraj Gupta

Seventeen academically outstanding Spring Valley students have been named semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship (NMSC) program. The students are among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists across the country selected. 

These academically talented high school students move on to compete for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. 

Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Spring Valley has more semifinalists than any other traditional high schools in South Carolina. Click here to read the press release